What’s for dinner Wednesday? Chicken Noodle Soup and the flu

by amyevansfitness

Life kicked me butt Monday! Mid afternoon I started feeling not so right. My body was aching (and not the typical workout ache) and my throat was sore.  

Needless to say , I had to make time for sickness.

I was off to take the boys to Tae Kwan Do when I knew I was sick. When I got home, I took my temperature and it was 101.3-wth?  I cannot even tell you the last time I was feeling this bad. So I was off to bed taking ibuprofen. 

 

First thing the next morning I headed to the Med Center to find a cure! After blood work, strep test and flu test the doctor said it was the flu. He gave me tamiflu and told me to rest up. And that is all I have done. Luckily the fever broke in the middle of night last night. But I am still achy, sore throat and exhausted! 

However I had some canned chicken soup yesterday and it was not good. So as soon I felt I had some energy I went into the kitchen to throw together some chicken noodle soup. I had leftover chicken that we grilled so I could use that. I diced up some carrots and celery. Then I used onions that I had already diced and froze last week. I used a chicken base for the stock (usually do not do that but I was in a pinch). Turned the crock on high and let it to go. As we speak it is cooking. I will have my husband add the egg noodles when he gets home.  

So I am back in bed and getting ready to nap again! 

  • What is your favorite way to recover from illness?   
