Throwback Thursday Race Recap Wineglass Half Marathon 

by amyevansfitness

Today we are flashing not too far back-only back to October of 2014 and half marathon #5. It was the Wineglass Half Marathon in Corning, NY. The BEST perk of this racation was it is where one of my best friends live!  

I would be lost without her!


Corning is about a seven hour drive from my house so I flew up there for the weekend. The weather was perfect and the leaves were changing there already.  As soon as I got there we headed to expo so I could pick up my race bib. I was quite nervous for this one for many reasons. Mainly because upstate New York is hilly and even though I heard the course wasn’t I still was skeptical. So much that J drove the course to prove to me it wasn’t. (And it wasn’t except for one hill-so not bad at all.) 

Saturday we had the day to ourselves and took full advantage of it. We started by having lunch on Market Street and working our way through the stores and bars (probably should have cut back on the bar part but OH WELL!) I also had a friend running that met up with us as well-she was running her first half. 

Race day started early and you were shuttled to the starting area outside of town. It was cold, 32 degrees-so I was thankful for my throw away clothes and gloves.  

  

Corning Glass Museum-packet pick up. Check it out if you are there. You can make your own glass souvenir!


The crowds along the course were terrific. And finish line party was perfect. Some of the best pizza ever! Oh and the most important race bling! Your medal is glass-it is so cool. I was scared to death it would break. 

 

It was wonderful meeting up with Michelle!

  

Almost at the finish!

 

It was a perfect race, in the perfect setting with my sister from another mother. I really really want to do it again this year-but it is already sold out! I am hoping some magic happens and I can get in.  

  

Market Street in downtown Corning.

  

  • Have you ever run this race? Any ideas how to get into a sold race? 

 

